FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 17, 2024 Contact: Colleen Colby 903-630-7443 colleen.colby@netrma.org www.netrma.org

NET RMA Announces Fourth Annual Linda Thomas Safe Driving Scholarships Winners

\$1,000 awards go to 11 high school seniors in Northeast Texas

(Tyler, TX) – The North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority (NET RMA) announced the recipients for its 4th annual Linda Thomas Safe Driving Scholarship. The scholarship awarded \$1,000 each to 11 high school seniors in NET RMA counties throughout Northeast Texas.

The scholarship promotes safe driving practices among local high school students and the Northeast Texas community. Winners were selected based on essays along with academic and extracurricular achievements. Each application was evaluated by the Scholarship Committee made up of NET RMA board members on the Community Relations Committee.

Our winners represent a highly accomplished group of students, with varied backgrounds and career interests. Fields of study for this year's scholarship recipients include nursing, animal science, engineering, biomedical science, electric line worker certification, and education.

"This year we had the largest number of scholarship submissions as well as the most competitive applicant pool in the history of the program. It made the committee's job of selecting the winners extremely difficult," said Andrea Williams-McCoy, NET RMA Community Relations Chair. "These young adults are poised to become impactful leaders for our next generation. NET RMA is proud to play a part in helping them pursue these worthwhile endeavors."

Linda Thomas Safe Driving Scholarship winners include:

Gregg County

- Amari Graves Pine Tree High School
- MaKayla Smith Kilgore High School

Harrison County

- Addyson Hearron Hallsville High School
- Bhavini Mali Hallsville High School
- Brady Roberts Hallsville High School
- Natalie Sullivan Hallsville High School

Smith County

• Sadie Vidrine – Grace Community School

Upshur County

• Mallory Bowin – Gilmer High School

Wood County

- Joseph-Hoang Nguyen Winnsboro High School
- Hunter Wernecke Mineola High School
- Logan Foster Winnsboro High School

Student essays included thoughts about driving laws, ideas on new technologies to limit cell phone use on the road, and personal stories on how distracted driving impacted their life. You can meet the winners and find their essays at <u>netrma.org/scholarship</u>.

Recipients will be able to use scholarship funds for tuition, fees, books, room, board or other expenses required by their college or university.

About the North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority (NET RMA)

The NET RMA is an independent government agency created to accelerate the development of transportation projects in Northeast Texas. The agency's missions is, in cooperation with its regional partners, to provide solutions to expedite infrastructure and mobility projects that will improve the quality of life, enhance the regional economy and assure efficient mobility in the North East Texas Region. The NET RMA is governed by a 21-member board of directors that represents each of the 14-member counties: Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Kaufman, Panola, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt and Wood. Texas RMAs were made possible through an initiative passed by the State Legislature in 2001. The NET RMA was established in October 2004. For more information visit, <u>NETRMA.org</u>.

###